Project Pre-Production Abstract

 So right now I’ve been doing a project pre-production module. The purpose of my work for the Project Pre-Production module is to do as much pre-production for the masters project as I can, since it is a pretty ambitious project, and I need all the time I can get.

The concept for my masters project is this: I will design a game. I will produce a design document, a story document, concept art, key assets (characters, important environments), and finally a teaser trailer for the game.

The idea for the game story is basically a mob story with supernatural elements. About a young man who gets involved with organized crime, and through a series of events undergoes a personal journey to find himself, master his power, as well as find out what happened to his long lost father.

The game will be a 3rd person Action/Adventure with RPG(role playing game) elements, set in a contemporary urban environment.

Art direction: Stylized realism with a dark and moody tone.

Core gameplay concept: Melee combat and environment traversal. Character interaction and player choice consequences.

Game Structure: Mission based structure within HUB worlds. Arena fights. Linear scripted missions in instanced levels.

Reference games: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, Enslaved, Prince of Persia, Dead to Rights: Retribution, Mass Effect 2, Yakuza 3, Heavenly Sword.

The idea is that by the end of the project I will have enough work done to properly pitch a game to a publisher (normally a developer would produce a prototype, but since the programming requires is beyond my abilities, I am doing a teaser trailer instead). I will be able to present design, story, art direction, assets and a teaser trailer to set the mood of the game, for the purpose of giving a publisher all the information it needs to decide whether to invest in the project.

This is quite a big project, so I will be doing as much as I can in terms of pre-production in this module:

I will complete relevant research about game design and art direction (influences, references)

I will do a treatment on the game story.

I will create character profiles.

I will do several pieces of concept art for major characters and environments that appear in the game story.

The goal is that by the end of this module, the framework for the project will be mostly complete, allowing me to focus on producing the documents, assets, and the animation for the project.

About Nate Fury

Character artist, games designer, and fighting game enthusiast. Follow me on Twitter @NateHawke and add me on Facebook: www.facebook.com/furytrickster My personal blog site can be found at www.pttogames.com

Leave a comment